• Email us:

  • Disclaimer

    The views expressed on the PCAN website are our own and do not necessarily represent or reflect the views or policies of our various employers.
  • Editors

  • Resources

  • RSS Re-blog

  • RSS PCAN Pipe

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Advertisements

It’s Award Season, Get Your Nominations In!

The Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) of ALA has several awards and grants that recognize and reward achievement in the field of, you guessed it, preservation and reformatting. The deadline for all nominations is December 1, 2011. Be sure to check out all the other ALCTS grants that are available if preservation isn’t your thing.

The exciting news this year is we now have an award to specifically support people new to the preservation field. The Jan Merrill-Oldham Award was developed and approved this year, so we need as many people to know about it as we can so that ALCTS gets a big pool of applicants this year and in the years to come. Please forward this to anyone you think would qualify for the award, to faculty at library schools, to you Mom who may know someone…you get the idea.

Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant  NEW AWARD

The Award is established by the Preservation and Reformatting Section (PARS) of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services (ALCTS) to honor the career and influence of Jan Merrill-Oldham, distinguished leader, author, and mentor in the field of library and archives preservation.

The Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant is awarded by the ALCTS Preservation and Reformatting Section to provide librarians and paraprofessionals new to the preservation field with the opportunity to attend a professional conference and encourages professional development through active participation at the national level. The grant is to be used for airfare, lodging, and registration fees to attend the ALA Annual Conference.


  • Criteria for selection will be determined based on the following:
  • Have five or fewer years of experience in the field of library and archives preservation.
  • Currently work as a librarian or para-professional within a library or archives preservation department or who has preservation responsibilities within their institution.
  • Have never attended an ALA Annual Conference
  • Recommendations from colleagues
  • Express desire as stated in a short essay (up to 500 words) on the following theme: How would receiving the Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant further your professional development goals?
  • Willingness to participate in designated conference events:
    • Work with a member of the jury to identify relevant programs and interest group sessions to attend
    • Attend the Preservation Administration Interest Group Meeting
    • Attend a least one PARS discussion group meeting
  • Submit a summary of the recipient’s conference experience to the ALCTS Newsletter Online no later than 30 days after the conference

Members of the sponsor or its affiliated organizations are not eligible.

Deadline: December 1, 2011

Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award

Given to recognize the contribution of a library leader through demonstrated exceptional service to ALCTS and its areas of interest (acquisitions, cataloging and classification, collection management and development, preservation and reformatting, and continuing resources).


Nominees must be ALCTS members. Criteria for selection of the winner will be determined by the person’s accomplishments, as they relate to leadership including:

  • Recognized leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level, with emphasis on the Division;
  • Significant contribution to professional literature;
  • Exemplary research in ALCTS areas;
  • Recognition of achievements, i.e., awards, citations, etc.

Deadline: December 1, 2011

Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award

This award was established to honor the memory of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation. The award will be given to recognize the contribution of a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation and/or conservation for library and/or archival materials.


Criteria for selection of the winner will be determined by the person’s accomplishments, as they relate to preservation leadership in such activities as:

  • leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national level;
  • contributions to the development, application or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques and routines;
  • evidence of studies or research in preservation;
  • significant contribution to professional literature;
  • training and mentoring in the field of preservation.

Deadline: December 1, 2011

George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award 

This award honors the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation.

The award, sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge, acknowledges and supports cooperative preservation projects and/or rewards individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals. Recipients of the award demonstrate vision, endorse cooperation, and advocate for the preservation of published and primary source resources that capture the richness of our cultural patrimony. The award recognizes the leadership and initiative required to build collaborative networks designed to achieve specific preservation goals. Since collaboration, cooperation, advocacy and outreach are key strategies that epitomize preservation, the award promotes cooperative efforts and supports equitable preservation among all libraries, archives and historical institutions.


The award jury will consider:

  • a project emphasizing collaboration or partnership
  • collaboration extending the preservation vision beyond the circle of preservation specialists and foster action to raise awareness and set priorities, projects, and programs into motion
  • nomination of an individual or group for cumulative achievement as a mentor or advocate of collaborative preservation.

Any person or group is eligible for this award; membership in the ALA organization is not required.

Deadline: December 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: