Conservation Outreach At RDU Airport

I just returned from the AIC Annual conference (notes coming soon). The entire conference centered around the theme of advocacy and outreach. AIC took some interesting turns in trying new formats for discussions and meetings, I think overall it was a successful format and one that I hope will be repeated at least in some form (The Great Debate was awesome and thought-provoking!).

When I arrived at RDU airport at midnight on Sunday, sleepy and still thinking of the sessions I attended, I stood waiting for my luggage and saw this on the flat panel screen over the baggage claim carousel. Talk about an effective outreach campaign to a captive audience!

Kudos to the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources and their Underwater Archaeology Branch for using the work of conservation in their education and outreach efforts.

For those of you unaware of the Queen Ann’s Revenge it is Black Beard’s flagship and its raising has been a huge story here in my state. For more on the QAR Project, see the NCDCR-UAB website.

Leave a Reply

